Sunday, February 04, 2018

Mid-West FNRS at ProSlot Raceway, Hartford, MI

Pro Slot Raceway in Hartford, Mi was host to Midwest FNRS Race # 2 on Jan 12, 2018. It was a snowy and cold Friday and Sat but the racing was HOT inside!!! 

A small turnout due to weather and other events in the area but still a fun time as John and Angie Miller, owners of Pro Slot and Pro Slot Raceway treated everyone like Kings. 

All racing was held on the 107' Hasse Paperclip track that was recently refurbed by Chris Dadds and is in tip top shape and very fast.

The Ultra Fast FNRS GTP cars were up first and Frank Ulbrik was the fastest in qualifying with a 2.880 lap with Ron Hershman a close 2nd quick @ 2.885.

FNRS GTP B Main...... Dave DeCoster, Matt Dube, Jeremy Wyant and the Boogieman lined up for action. Dave had some gear issues early on and got behind with Matt Dube having multiple gear spinning issues putting him out of contention early in the race. This left the battle down to Jeremy and Boogie as the two swapped the lead a couple of times until Jeremy went into the lead late in the race and to Winners Circle with 264 laps followed by Boogieman 260, Dave 235 and Matt 225.

FNRS GTP A Main..... Ron Hershman led the first three heats narrowly over Frank Ulbrik, JP Milcherska and Steve Peppler. Frank took the lead in the 4th heat and led through heat 7 when Ron worked his way back into the lead. Going into the final heat it was either Ron's race to lose or Frank's to win and Ron held off Frank to Win with 296 laps to Frank's 295 laps. Third was JP 286 and Steve 259.

FNRS GTP Overall Results:
Hershman 296 IN
Ulbrick 295 MI
Milcherska 286 IN
Wyant 264 MI
Boogie 260 MI
Peppler 259 IN
DeCoster 235 MI
Dube 225 MI

FNRS LMP was up next and it was Frank Ulbrik on the pole @ 3.292 and Steve Peppler 2nd quick 3.334.

Frank Ulbrik got out front early and checked out on his way to Winning and becoming the Michigan State FNRS LMP Champion. Steve Peppler was 2nd 259 followed by Boogieman 251+, Jeremy Wyant 251-, Dave Decoster 235 and Matt Dube 217.

FNRS Stock Car was the final class of the day. Frank Ulbrik made it a "sweep of the poles" by TQ-ing with a run of 3.210 and Ron Hershman was 2nd quick @ 3.248.

A Round Robin format race with Frank Ulbrik out front early on until gear "gremlins" ruined his chance at victory and Boogie had controller issues the first heat. 

Ron Hershman Wins with 281, followed by Dave DeCoster 254, Frank Ulbrik 252, Jeremy Wyant 242, Matt Dube 237 and Boogieman 234.

Congrats to the Michigan State FNRS Champions!!!

Frank Ulbrik GTP and LMP
Dave DeCoster Stock Car

Thanks to ALL of the racers that endured poor travel conditions and the bitter cold who attended. 

Thanks to John and Angie Miller of Pro Slot for hosting the race.

The Next FNRS Midwest Event will be the Indiana State Championships on Mar 3, 2018 @ At The Track Raceway in South Bend, In.

Thank you to Ron Hershman for contributing to this report.